Ode to my departing lodger

20130921-120112.jpg

My lodger is moving out tomorrow and I’m so happy about it that I’ve written a song.  I think it’s safe to say that  I probably won’t sing it to her but it was rather therapeutic to write.  So, to the tune of “I’m getting married in the morning”, I present an ode to my departing lodger:

My lodger’s leaving in the morning
Ding dong the doorbell will not chime
With the arrival of her boyfriend
Whilst delivery drivers descend
With takeaways for them to dine

My lodger’s leaving in the morning
My utility bills will shrink
No more tumble drying
Unattended frying
Or dirty dishes left in the sink

My lodger’s leaving in the morning
I’m looking forward to some peace
Without door slamming
Or her and boyfriend banging
So loudly I almost call the police

My lodger’s leaving in the morning
I can not hide my delight
My kettle won’t be boiling
My food won’t be spoiling
When the freezer door is open half the night

My lodger’s leaving in the morning
Ding dong the bells are gonna chime
Happiness appearing
I’ll be clapping and cheering
And lodger free for a short time

 

Would you care to say something? How marvellous:

