When did Bungle become a style icon?

20130128-195211.jpgThings that annoy me
January Edition

It’s cold outside so everyone has been wrapping up well; winter coats, woolly scarves, cosy gloves and warm hats.

I have a problem with the hats, well, more specifically, anyone over the age of about 12 who wears furry hats with ears on top, soft toy style.

Don’t get me wrong, if there’s a cute teddy-bear-eared-up infant within 500 yards, my biological clock will tick so loudly there’s every chance the bomb squad could accidentally detonate me. However, even I have to admit that every so often you see a bewildered expression cross the bear-child’s face which I’m pretty sure translates as “Really? This? You know that I’m a baby and not a Teddy Ruxpin, right?”

I have encountered many women this week from a wide spectrum of ages wearing this bear ear hat garment and in my humble opinion, they all look rather daft. I walked past one woman who was probably not far off retirement age and it took every ounce of my self restraint not to shout out “Did you look in the mirror this morning? Exactly which part of the ‘post-menopausal panda’ look did you think would work?” She even had matching mittens. Give me strength.

So, to conclude: Yogi, Baloo, Rupert, Ben, Boo-Boo, Winnie. Not fashionistas. Just bears.

Would you care to say something? How marvellous:

